You are here

Research Tools

Books, Art, and Literature

About Books

Find read-a-likes, author biographies, plot summaries, specific settings and genres, series information, book reviews, and more. 

American and English Literature

Access complete text of many works of drama, poetry, religious texts, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print. 

Literary Reference Center

Gives access to literary journals, reference works, poems, short stories, book discussion help, and more. 

Ohio Digital Library

Borrow fiction and non-fiction eBooks, audiobooks, movies, and music for all ages.

Religion and Philosophy Collections

Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. 

U.S. Government Printing Office

The Federal Government's online resource for the official information products of the U.S. Government. Use to download free U.S. Government eBooks. 

 

Business

Business Source Premier

Find full articles from popular and scholarly business periodicals, company and market research, and daily updates business news. 

Explore Ohio

Use this ever-expanding directory of Ohio-specific websites by category or by county for your research. 

Ohio.gov: Government Information and Services

The official website for the state of Ohio. find government services and information for residents, businesses, visitors, and state employees. 

Reference USA

It contains basic directory information for more than 210 million U.S. residents and 14 million businesses. It includes the name of the business, address, telephone number, headquarters, Yellow Page headings, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, and estimated sales volume.

Regional Business News

Access articles from business journals, newspapers, and news-wires, covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. 

 

DIY and Hobbies

AutoMate Repair Reference Center

AutoMate offers a user-friendly search experience and access to a wealth of information to help users diagnose, repair and maintain today's complex vehicles. Diagrams and images can be easily magnified and printed.

 

Employment Resources and Adult Learning

Job and Career Accelerator

Job seekers can explore suitable occupations for over 1,000 detailed occupation profiles and find available jobs in their area from a database of over 5 million up-to-date job postings.

Learning Express Library

Comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial courses designed to help students and adult learners succeed on the academic and licensing tests. Create your own personalized and private account to track your progress.

Professional Development Collection 

The most comprehensive collection of education journals in the world; includes peer-reviewed titles and educational reports. 

Vocational and Career Collection

Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public, this provides coverage for both trade and industry-related periodicals. 

Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success

Provides resources to boost basic workplace and job search skills, and prepare job seekers for advanced occupational training. This interactive, self-paced learning approach allows job seekers to learn at their convenience. 

 

Health

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, this covers over 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets available in both English and Spanish. 

Alt. Health Watch

Access peer-review journals, reports, and more on the many perspectives of complementary, alternative, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. 

Consumer Health Complete

Browse medical, health-related and drug reference books, articles on health and fitness, and sources for alternative health information. 

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Provides information on the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Find in-depth medical information from nearly 500 scholarly full text journals on many medical disciplines. 

MedlinePlus

Learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out definitions, or view medical videos, with information from the latest research and clinical trials on a disease or condition. 

NetWellness

Search this non-profit consumer health website for high quality information created and evaluated by medical and health professional faculty from several Ohio universities. 

 

Magazines and Newspapers

EBSCOHost Databases

Search all EBSCOHost databases simultaneously for in-depth research, or limit to only a few resources to search at a time. 

Masterfile Premier

Find a wide variety of periodicals and reference books covering general information, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, and more. 

Newspaper Archive Public Library Edition (accessible from inside the library buildings only)

Explore the largest historical newspaper database online, containing tens of millions of newspapers from 1607 to the present.  

Newspaper Source

Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full television and radio news transcripts are also provided. 

Points of View Reference Center

Shares resources that present multiple sides of an issue. Students can use these resources to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. 

 

Reference and Encyclopedias 

Academic Search Premier

Offers articles from scholarly and academic magazines and periodicals - covering nearly every area of study. 

American and English: Full Text Literature Collections

Explore American poetry from 1600 to the present. Compare different editions of Shakespeare's work. Read early American fiction. Explore English drama. 

Explora Primary Schools

Designed with students and educators in grades K through 5 in mind. It provides a safe, trustworthy environment for students to  look up facts for class projects or homework. 

Explora Public Schools

Designed with public library patrons in mind. Explora  provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world's leading magazines and reference books, grouped into easy-to-browse categories.

Explora Secondary Schools

Designed for students and educators in grades 6 through 12. It provides a far better alternative to website and search engines for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework, 

Literary Reference Center

Gives access to literary journals, reference works, poems, short stories, book discussion help, and more. 

Know It Now 24 x 7

Is a place where you can get live help from a librarian for finding resources for homework or research on any topic, suggestions for good books to read, or answers to satisfy your general curiosity. 

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Use to located building and neighborhoods from 1867 to 1970 and study the growth of towns and cities.

Science Online

Articles, videos, and experiments.

Science Reference Online 

Contains hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources for student research in a variety of scientific topics.

World Book Online

This resource for students provides an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides in both English and Spanish.